Nature's Mothers Blog

Childbirth, Parenting and Other Passions

Remembering our families November 9, 2013

Filed under: EB/PBCC — naturesmother @ 7:39 pm

Some of you may know that I grew up in the Exclusive Brethren, recently rebranded as the Plymouth Brethren Christian Church.  Recently a group of us got together and did a remembrance event with we called Tie-A-Yellow-Ribbon.  We did this to remember our families within the EB/PBCC who we no longer have normal relationships with. It is sad to think that my children may never meet my mom, my siblings or their many cousins. Erin has just started asking questions about her other granny and it is tricky to explain that a belief that is supposed to be about unconditional love, may actually prevent then from meeting. This films speaks for itself really. Enjoy and please feel free to like and comment on the youtube page – and of course share.

 

2 Responses to “Remembering our families”

  1. […] I’m not sure we can now undo Santa, but perhaps we can tone him down massively again. I don’t think they really believe in Santa, I think they see him in a fantastical way – and in our house he brought mainly charity shop gifts.  The book we got about St Nicholas (the only good kids one we could find) took ages to come and when it did it was 100% Christian, and even a bit preachy…I literally spluttered over it when reading it to my kids, and only read it once! (If you know my history, you would understand why this is an issue for me…you can read more about this here.) […]

  2. […] I’m not sure we can now undo Santa, but perhaps we can tone him down massively again. I don’t think they really believe in Santa, I think they see him in a fantastical way – and in our house he brought mainly charity shop gifts.  The book we got about St Nicholas (the only good kids one we could find) took ages to come and when it did it was 100% Christian, and even a bit preachy…I literally spluttered over it when reading it to my kids, and only read it once! (If you know my history, you would understand why this is an issue for me…you can read more about this here.) […]


Leave a Reply

